CDSG Forums Forum Index CDSG Forums
A place to discuss all aspects of Coast Artillery

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

West Coast or East Coast? Help?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
JimG

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:28 pm    Post subject: West Coast or East Coast? Help? Reply with quote

Greetings! I am new to this board and am hoping someone with knowledge of coastal fortifications might be willing to share their expertise. I should explain that I am an art historian by profession, and am a newcomer to the subject that brings you all to this forum. Having moved a few years ago to Pacifica in Northern California, I have become fascinated by these abandoned sites that seem to be everywhere.

The image that I have uploaded is of a painting by John Atherton in the collection of the de Young Museum in San Francisco. It is dated 1940 and entitled "Coast Fortification." Atherton was a painter and illustrator who trained in San Francisco, and lived here during the 1920s, but moved to New York in 1929.

This painting was made in New York, and more than likely derives from the artist's imagination rather than a specific site, but I was hoping to gather some opinions from members of this board. Does this look to be an East Coast or West Coast scene? The topography looks like California, but the architecture looks more East Coast. Do the flags convey anything useful? Is there anything realistic about the configuration of the guns?

Please forgive my ignorance in these matters -- and thanks in advance for any thoughts you might have.

Jim
TexasViking

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote